Our Excellence

The School of Molecular Cell Biology and Biotechnology (MCBB) at Tel Aviv University is one of the leading schools in Europe in these disciplines.

MCBB faculty have been selected for prestigious academy memberships, including EMBO, the American Academy of Microbiology, the European Academy of Microbiology, the American Genetics Society, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the World Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Society for the Advancement of Science, and the Israeli Young Academy of Science.

In the last decade, MCBB faculty have been awarded a record number of ERC grants (11 including five starter grants, three consolidator grants and three advanced grants)

Members of the school have been awarded important national prizes including the Landau Prize, EMET prize, the Teva Founders prize, the Hestrin award, the Sarov Prize, the Hirsch Prize, the Rappaport Prize, Nathan Treinin Prize, and the Krill award. School faculty members have also won prestigious international prizes such as the Zenith Award of the Alzheimer’s  Association, the PNAS Cozzarelli Prize, the Nanos Award in Nanomedicine, and the Life Time Achievement Award for Scientific Contributions of the  Institute of Human Virology.

School members continuously publish in high-profile journals including Nature, Science, Cell, Nature Genetics, Nature Medicine, Nature Nanotechnology, Nature Microbiology, Nature Materials and PNAS.

The school’s research topics are diverse involving microbiology, biotechnology, nanotechnology, cell biology, immunology, bioinformatics, molecular evolution and regenerative medicine.


Join us in the pursuit of excellence in biology!

Tel Aviv University, P.O. Box 39040, Tel Aviv 6997801, Israel
UI/UX Basch_Interactive